Journal

Writing on Wednesday (February 3, 2016)

Writing on Wednesday Badge

Writing on Wednesday is a way to keep this particular writer on track (I hope!). These are weekly posts/updates where I will share something from the past week of writing with the readers of this blog. Sometimes it might be something I’ve learned, found useful, or a bit of my own writing and ideas. I hope this will be a time of sharing, encouragement, and accountability. Join me in setting some writing goals to finish that project and celebrate each success.

*     *     *     *     *     *     *

As of this morning, The Marriage Pact is sitting at 26, 455 words. Almost a third of that was added during the last week or so of January.

There are a couple of things that I’ve learned recently. The first, is how valuable it is to have someone to write alongside with. A friend and I are both in the process of writing our rough drafts. We’ve been setting aside an hour of our days that we are both sitting down at our computers and the main goal is just to put the words on the page. During this time, I’ve been not only meeting, but exceeding what would be my normal daily wordcount goals.

Second, my story took a detour. It wasn’t that something happened that wasn’t supposed to, or something different. It’s just that certain things happened out of order. I ended up taking a couple of days off of writing to look over my outline and reassess the scenes that hadn’t been written yet. Were they still relevant to the story? Yes, so then where should they go? I found new homes for most of them and I think overall, the novel will be stronger for it. Despite how much I like to have things planned out, I have to be willing to be flexible when the story starts to come to life on its own and things just happen.

My goals for the month? I’m setting aside the wordcount goals, because I’m honestly not sure what to do with them. If I set them higher than I normally would, I’m afraid that not meeting them regularly would be discouraging. And it seems futile to set normal ones that are easily getting met and then so much more. So my goal is to sit at the computer daily. Make progress on the novel each and every day, because that is really the only way it will get written.

What are you writing goals for the month of February?

 

2 thoughts on “Writing on Wednesday (February 3, 2016)

Leave a Reply

