Journal

Writing on Wednesday (February 10, 2016)

Writing on Wednesday Badge

Writing on Wednesday is a way to keep this particular writer on track (I hope!). These are weekly posts/updates where I will share something from the past week of writing with the readers of this blog. Sometimes it might be something I’ve learned, found useful, or a bit of my own writing and ideas. I hope this will be a time of sharing, encouragement, and accountability. Join me in setting some writing goals to finish that project and celebrate each success.

*     *     *     *     *     *     *

This week, I want to share with you a recent addition to my writing shelf. First of all, I love the idea of having Thesaurus-type books geared towards writers. The Emotion Thesaurus, Negative Trait Thesaurs, and Positive Trait Thesaurus are all super helpful resources and ones I use frequently. Which had me thinking, what other books along those same lines were out there. In my search, I discovered one published by Writer’s Digest called Building Believable Characters.

The book starts out with an interview of sorts with a variety of authors on how they create characters. This is followed by a pretty thorough questionnaire to help with character development. Both pieces of these are things I didn’t find too helpful but for someone just starting to write, they may be of some benefit.

The rest of the book is a goldmine, in my opinion. It is all lists of words and descriptors for other words. Everything from the face and body parts, personalities, facial expressions, and clothing. There are lists related to dialects and pronunciations (helpful for those writing a character with a southern drawl, for example) as well as some various foreign language vocabulary. You’ll also find some common names and surnames organized by what country they come from and a brief chapter on types of residential dwellings (chateau, ranch, adobe, flat, etc).

Personally, I think this is a fantastic quick resource for just looking something up quick while writing. I was impressed with the number of lists and the wide variety of lists contained in this one book. It helps to keep me away from getting distracted by searching for something online while writing and still provides the answer I am looking for (or at least enough to give me some direction to research later).

What are one of your more helpful tools that you like to use while writing?

 

2 thoughts on “Writing on Wednesday (February 10, 2016)

Leave a Reply

