25911695The Civil War battlefield is the last place Quakeress Faith Cathwell thought she’d find herself. But with a gift for nursing, Faith seizes this opportunity to join the fight for abolition—and to search for Shiloh, a freeborn childhood friend who was kidnapped and sold south by unscrupulous slave catchers.

Knowing it’s much too dangerous for her to search enemy territory alone, Faith enlists the help of Colonel Devlin Knight, who is indebted to her for saving his cousin’s life. A career soldier, Dev is committed to the preservation of the Union but conflicted about freeing his own slave and confidant, who plans to enlist as soon as Dev gives him manumission papers.

Blazing a trail east with the rest of Grant’s army, Dev and Faith fight their personal battles—and a growing attraction to each other. When beliefs clash and passions flare, they quickly find that the only thing more dangerous than the war surrounding them is the battle within their hearts.

**I received a copy of this book from the Tyndale Blogging Network in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.**

5 Star



I love it when I can find a really good book that I can just escape into the story. I found that with Lyn Cote’s third novel of The Quaker Brides Series, Faith.

Faith is a book that balances history with the emotions that come from internal conflicts as humans. Colonel Devlin Knight certainly embodies this as he is at constant war with himself over the issue of slavery and coming to grips with what he knows is right. His internal struggle sets the basis of a strong theme that runs through this book.

And if the characters aren’t wonderful enough, the history that comes alive in this story make it a book worth reading. Most of the events around this book surround Grant’s leadership. As a reader, and someone who loves history, I was impressed with Cote’s ability to explain some of the military aspects without becoming overwhelmed. It all just added to the setting and made for a better book.

This is a book I would highly reccommend to anyone who enjoys historical fiction, especially those set in and around the Civil War. If you haven’t read the previous two novels of the Quaker Brides series, Honor and Blessing, don’t worry, you’ll be able to read this novel just fine. While each book of the series can be read as a standalone, there are a few comments and characters that pop up from the previous book, but nothing that would be considered a spoiler.

 “People don’t go through war and come out just the same.”

-Faith Cathwell, Faith

About the Author:

In 1997, Lyn Cote’s first book, Never Alone, was chosen for the “new” Love Inspired romance line. Since then, Lyn has had over thirty-five novels published. In 2006 Lyn’s book, Chloe, was a finalist for the RITA, and her book Her Patchwork Family was a finalist for the Carol Award in 2010 and Her Healing Ways won in 2011. These are two of the highest awards in the romance genre.

Lyn’s brand “Strong Women, Brave Stories,” always includes three elements: a strong heroine who is a passionate participant in her times, authentic historical detail and a multicultural cast of characters. Lyn also features stories of strong women both from real life and true to life fiction on her blog

Lyn also can be found on Facebook, Twitter and Goodreads. Drop by and “friend or follow” her. Now living her dream of writing books at her lake cottage in northern Wisconsin, Lyn hopes her books show the power of divine as well as human love.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s