Book Review

Country Cooking from a Redneck Kitchen

Hi everyone, I’m giving you a bonus review this week, because honestly, there are too many good recipes in this book to not share it…

Few people know that national pie champion Francine Bryson got her start on the cooking contest circuit25852785t at age sixteen with a savory stuffed pork loin—that won first place. In Country Cooking from a Redneck Kitchen, Francine invites you into her home to share recipes for everything that graces her Southern table: chicken dinners, savory pies, Sunday suppers to serve the preacher, make-and-take casseroles, dips and other redneck whatnots, backyard barbecue favorites—and, of course, three chapters devoted to her celebrated baked goods, including her most-requested holiday sweets. Feeding people is what Francine loves to do, and here are simple instructions for 125 dishes with 60 color photographs to help you to bring her Southern charm to your table.

**I received a copy of this book from Blogging For Books in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.**

5 Star

 

I reviewed Francine Bryson’s first cookbook a year or so ago and am excited to get to review this one as well. I’m not one who enjoys fancy recipes with complicated directions or obscure ingredients. And honestly, this cookbook is the complete opposite of that. This cookbook offers recipes that I really think anyone could make.

When I first flipped through this book, I couldn’t help but chuckle at some of the titles of the recipes. “Most-Requested Spinach Dip”, “The Best Fried Chicken You’ll Ever Eat” (one of the recipes I can’t wait to try, just to see if the title is true!), and “1940s Batter Bread” are just some of the more catchy names. Of course there are some less interesting ones as well. But as unique as the names, Francine shares tidbits of how she came up with certain recipes or just other pieces about her life and family and how that relates to the recipe. The book has personality and that paired with the scrumptious photos make it so much fun to flip through.

As I mentioned, I’m not a fancy cook, so I can appreciate that all of these recipes use good old fashioned ingredients–many of which I probably have in my pantry or freezer on any given day.  I’m excited to have added this cookbook to my collection and I’m anxious to start trying some of the recipes out!

About the Author:

Francine Bryson is the authors of the bestselling Blue Ribbon Baking from a Redneck Kitchen, a Southern Independent Booksellers Alliance Book Award finalist and Okra Pick. She has won more than 200 local and national baking competitions and was the runner-up and crowd favorite on CBS’s The American Baking Competition. Bryson, a member of the American Pie Council, lives with her husband in Pickens, South Carolina.

 

Leave a Reply

