Book Review

Traces of Guilt

28267987She’s turning up the heat on Carin County’s cold cases . . .

Evie Blackwell loves her life as an Illinois State Police detective . . . mostly. She’s very skilled at investigations and has steadily moved up through the ranks. She would like to find Mr. Right, but she has a hard time imagining how marriage could work, considering the demands of her job.

Gabriel Thane grew up in Carin County and is now its sheriff, a job he loves. Gabe is committed to upholding the law and cares deeply for the residents he’s sworn to protect. He too would like to find a lifetime companion, a marriage like his parents have….

When Evie arrives in Carin, Illinois, it’s to help launch a new task force focused on unsolved crimes across the state. She will work with the sheriff’s department on a couple of its most troubling missing-persons cases. As she studies old evidence to pull out a few tenuous new leads, she unearths surprising connections. One way or another, she knows Gabriel Thane and his family will be key to the answers she seeks.

**I received a copy of this book from Bethany House in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.**

 

4 Stars

For awhile now, I’ve been wanting to pick up a book by Dee Henderson. I’m a sucker for a good suspense and mystery and it always seems as if I’m seeing one of her books pop up somewhere. So I was excited to get my hands on Traces of Guilt–not to mention, that the synopsis of this book had me hooked. Overall, I found a lot to love about this book.

First of all, I was surprised to find how slowly this novel moved. When I pick up a mystery, I expect a certain element of suspense to be there. I was consistently surprised when I thought about it, to find that lacking and it even made me enjoy this novel more. In a strange way, I kept comparing this book to the 90’s show of Unsolved Mysteries… I loved that show, and I loved this book. So much of the pacing of this book is checking out the possible ways and motives for the cold case crimes. It was fascinating to see how Evie’s (the investigator) mind worked through these cases. but even though I didn’t notice as much of the tension in this book, there were plenty of surprises along the way.

And the characters… Oh, I looked forward to picking this book up to hang out with Evie and the Thane family. These were the folks you really did want to get to know and just chat with on the porch. And Evie was quite fascinating as well. When I first started the book, I felt like I jumped into a series, but that feeling quickly left. I got the characters sorted out in my head and they easily became old friends.

So, why the four stars? Well, there were a lot of characters to keep straight in the beginning. And while I did get to know them, that feeling of being in the middle of a series of books and having not read the first never quite left. The ending also felt just a tad bit rushed. But all in all, it is a book I would reccommend. There’s some hard stuff that happens in one of the character’s life that you learn about. But other than that, if you like the idea of mystery and suspense with less on the suspense side, this might be a book worth checking out.

“Luck is mostly perspiration.”

-Evie Blackwell, Traces of Guilt

About the Author:

Dee HendersonDee Henderson is the author of 14 best-selling novels, including the acclaimed O’Malley series and the Uncommon Heroes series. As a leader in the inspirational romantic suspense category, her books have won or been nominated for several prestigious industry awards, including the RWA’s RITA Award, the Christy Award, the ECPA Gold Medallion, the Holt Medallion, the National Readers’ Choice Award, and the Golden Quill. Dee is a lifelong resident of Illinois and is active online.

Leave a Reply

