Book Review

Understanding Exposure

25852929This newly revised edition of Bryan Peterson’s most popular book demystifies the complex concepts of exposure in photography, allowing readers to capture the images they want.

Understanding Exposure has taught generations of photographers how to shoot the images they want by demystifying the complex concepts of exposure in photography. In this newly updated edition, veteran photographer Bryan Peterson explains the fundamentals of light, aperture, and shutter speed and how they interact with and influence one another. With an emphasis on finding the right exposure even in tricky situations, Understanding Exposure shows you how to get (or lose) sharpness and contrast in images, freeze action, and take the best meter readings, while also exploring filters, flash, and light. With all new images, as well as an expanded section on flash, tips for using colored gels, and advice on shooting star trails, this revised edition will clarify exposure for photographers of all levels.

**I received a copy of this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.**

4 Stars

First of all, if you are picking this book up, be sure to have your camera manuel ready, especially ‘if you are as new to your personal camera as I am. I recently bought my first DSLR camera in early December. For the past 6-7 months, I’ve been learning how to focus the lens or just using all of the automatic fetaures. While I can see the difference between the pictures my DSLR takes and the ones I was getting with my old point-and-shoot or even my iPhone, I know that I could do better.

Enter Understanding Exposure. Immediately, this book taught me how to use three key settings on my camera: Aperture, Shutter Speed and ISO (although this leads me to the biggest issue that bothered me about this book… he talks about a photographic triangle but expects you to draw it yourself or imagine it– I wish there were a few graphics demonstrating how this triangle works exactly– I tend to be visual in that way and I really missed that). But with my camera’s manuel in hand, I quickly learned how to access them and what they did.

The rest of the book is filled with so many wonderful ideas on how to make your photographs more artistic. Capturing motion, creating motion, using lighting to your advantage and so much more. There are plenty of other things that this book has to teach and most of it is fairly easy to grasp if you take your time and have a camera handy to play around with.

Personally, I’m excited about all that this book has to offer. I would certainly consider myself a beginner to photography (or if there is a level less experienced than that) and I found this book quite helpful.

Leave a Reply

