Book Review

Unashamed

26760315Shame is everywhere.

Whether it’s related to relationships, body image, work difficulties, or a secret sin, we all experience shame at some point in our lives. While shame can manifest itself in different ways—fear, regret, and anger—it ultimately points us to our most fundamental need as human beings: redemption.

Shame never disappears in solitude, and Heather Davis Nelson invites us to not only be healed of our own shame but also be a part of healing for others. She shines the life-giving light of the gospel on the things that leave us feeling worthless and rejected, giving us courage us to walk out of shame’s shadows and offering hope for our bondage to brokenness. Through the gospel, we discover the only real and lasting antidote to shame: exchanging our shame for the righteousness of Christ alongside others on this same journey.

**I received a copy of this book from FlyBy Promotions in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.**

5 Star

I’m often hesitant to pick up books like Unashamed. Not sure why. Perhaps I’m just not always drawn to them or I just don’t think I’ll find them helpful. But from the beginning of this book, I couldn’t help but examine my own life and see where shame actually does have a grip on me and may be holding me back.

Unashamed is a book that I think I would recommend to any woman to pick up. Shame is one of those things that can be hard to identify but we all deal with. This book helps with that. The topics of the book cover everything from body image to relationships. And the author approaches each topic with sensitivity and caring–in such a way that she comes across as encouraging. There are plenty of scripture and biblical references that support much of what she is saying making this a book that might pair well with devotions or other Bible study. Each chapter is followed with a few questions that are designed for the reader to really consider what the chapter was about, examinging her own life, and to be encouraged.

This is a book that I think would work well in a Women’s Bible Study group or would be just as helpful to be read on one’s own.

About the Author:

Heather Davis Nelson“I am a writer, counselor, retreat speaker, mom to fraternal twin daughters born in 2010, wife of a pastor, big sister to two brothers way taller than me, and daughter of parents who taught me to love Jesus and everything Carolina-style. Most important to my identity is that I am one who finds my life hidden in another’s: Christ my Redeemer – an impossible gift of God’s grace through my mustard-seed sized faith. I love coffee, reading, front porch conversations, the beach, date night with my husband, and story time with my daughters. I enjoy writing as a way to connect with others as we find hope amidst the broken places of life and seek grace for daily struggles.

I went to Wheaton College for undergrad, getting my B.A. in Elementary Education with concentrations in Spanish and English, and my M.A. in Counseling is from Westminster Theological Seminary.

Besides my book, “Unashamed: Healing our Brokenness and Finding Freedom from Shame,” I also regularly write at Hidden Glory: heatherdavisnelson.com.”

Leave a Reply

