Journal

This Road We Traveled

28637691Drama, Adventure, and Family Struggles Abound as Three Generations Head West on the Oregon Trail

When Tabitha Brown’s son makes the fateful decision to leave Missouri and strike out for Oregon, she refuses to be left behind. Despite her son’s concerns, Tabitha hires her own wagon to join the party. Along with her reluctant daughter and her ever-hopeful granddaughter, the intrepid Tabitha has her misgivings. But family ties are stronger than fear.

The trials they face along the way will severely test Tabitha’s faith, courage, and ability to hope. With her family’s survival on the line, she must make the ultimate sacrifice, plunging deeper into the wilderness to seek aid. What she couldn’t know was how this frightening journey would impact how she understood her own life–and the greater part she had to play in history.

With her signature attention to detail and epic style, New York Times bestselling author Jane Kirkpatrick invites readers to travel the deadly and enticing Oregon Trail. Based on actual events, This Road We Traveled will inspire the pioneer in all of us.

**I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.**

3 Stars

 

I’m always a bit frustrated when I want to really enjoy a book, but there is just something about it that leaves me wanting something a bit more. I ran into that with Jane Kirkpatrick’s most recent novel, This Road We Traveled.

I’ve enjoyed other novels by Kirkpatrick– I love her earthy style of writing. There’s something so genuine about it. I can say that the same style exists in the pages of this one. But there was something about these characters, that after spending a third of this book with them, I just wasn’t all that interested what happened to them. I wasn’t relating to them at all. There also wasn’t a lot of a plot happening. Perhaps if one of those two things were different, I would have finished the book. As it was, I eventually just sat it down, and never picked it back up again.

Perhaps this was one of those books that just wasn’t for me. Or maybe it just wasn’t what I was in the mood for. But either way, I just found it to be a bit slow and not what I was hoping for.

“But that’s what accidents are, for the most part: unplanned. We can only imagine how to pick up the pieces and wing anew through the sky, reaching higher.”

-Tabitha Brown, This Road We Traveled

To learn more about Jane Kirkpatrick and her novels, please visit the following links:

Leave a Reply

