Book Review

The Captive Heart

28956757Proper English governess Eleanor Morgan flees to the colonies to escape the wrath of a brute of an employer. When the Charles Town family she’s to work for never arrives to collect her from the dock, she is forced to settle for the only reputable choice remaining to her—marriage to a man she’s never met. Trapper and tracker Samuel Heath is a hardened survivor used to getting his own way by brain or by brawn, and he’s determined to find a mother for his young daughter. But finding a wife proves to be impossible. No upstanding woman wants to marry a murderer.

**I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.**

5 Star

 

 

Every once in awhile, I have one of the best struggles with a book: I want to read it as fast as I can because I have to know what happens next and I want to read it slow, to savor every moment. This book was the epitome of that, I think. Not to mention, when I finished it, I was seriously considering just picking it back up and starting at page 1 again, and that does not happen very often for me.

This was such a well-crafted novel. From characters with hurts and struggles that run deep, to a treacherous setting inhabited with people who at times, are just as wild as the land. The slow and fragile relationship that builds between the main characters of this book is fascinating to watch unfold.

If you enjoy novels set on the edge of the frontier, or are fans of authors like Laura Frantz or Lori Benton, this might just be a novel for you to pick up. I was thoroughly impressed and am so excited about it.

To learn more about Michelle Griep and her novels, please visit the following links:

Leave a Reply

