Book Review

Strengths Based Marriage

29492032

Marriage expert Jimmy Evans and strengths expert Allan Kelsey show readers how to have a happier, stronger marriage by applying the concepts from the popular StrengthsFinder assessment to their relationship.

One of the biggest obstacles to a happy, strong marriage is a lack of understanding of yourself and your spouse. With Strengths Based Marriage, MarriageToday cofounder Jimmy Evans and Gallup Certified Strengths Coach Allan Kelsey give readers the tools they need to dismantle that hurdle and develop a deeper and richer relationship. Applying the revelatory concepts from the popular Clifton StrengthsFinder assessment to marriage (assessment itself not included in purchase price), Evans and Kelsey break new ground in helping readers understand themselves and others. With chapters on “Stopping the Cycles of Pain,” “Speaking Love to Your Spouse’s Heart,” and “Secrets of Successful Marriages,” the book details practical ways to apply these profound insights to your marriage every day. And as a bonus, with your purchase of the book you’ll receive access to more than two hours of exclusive video content revealing how to reach your marriage’s full potential. Utterly practical and deeply insightful Strengths Based Marriage will forever change the way you see yourself, your spouse, and your marriage.

**I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.**

 

4 Stars

 

When I was in college, I had the oppurtunity to take the Strengthsfinder assessment. In that context, it was for more of a professional understanding and honestly, I don’t think I ever thought about how knowing those some strengths could impact relationships–especially a marriage.

Over the last 5 (almost 6) years that I’ve been married, I’ve found myself drawn to books about building stronger marriages. Not that I think mine needs help, but because I firmly believe in being proactive. To figure out problems before they event exist. And also, sometimes these books give me the language I need to understand my husband and to explain myself.

Anyways, back to this book… I was certainly intrigued by this book that merged these two things about me. And I was curious how knowing what my strengths were would impact my marriage. Well, this book takes a stance that not understanding your strengths or your partner’s can cause a lot of communication problems. This book tries to give you the tools to understand that and open that communication back up. It even talks about some other areas where our strengths or mindsets cause problems… such as our “money language”. I also thought it was great that there were two voices to this book: Jimmy Evans applies the ideas of the book to his own marriage and how they helped him understand things and Allan Kelsey takes a bit more of the instruction approach in discussing the ‘why’ of the problems and how to use your strengths to help resolve them. I enjoyed the way the book went back and forth between these two.

Personally, I don’t know if I would rank this as one of the better books on marriage out there. It’s good and has a unique perspective but I think the overall concept exists in other books already. However, I do like that this does offer that slightly different angle, and for that reason I can see where others may benefit from it. One of the bigger issues that I have with the book is that it does not contain the assessment that the book is centered around. So, buyer beware, that you will have to pay to take the assessment online. At the time of this writing, it costs a minimum of $15 per person to take assessment and receive a downloadable ebook about the assessment. For that reason also, I think this book is a bit less practical since so much of it revolves on understanding your strengths based on your assessment results.

So, if you are familiar with Strengthsfinder this might be a book that is of interest to you. Otherwise, I would call this a decent book on building stronger marriages and to look around to see if there is a better one out there for you.

For more information about this book, please visit the following links:
Leave a Reply

