Book Review

Redeeming Grace: Ruth’s Story

30259129When famine visits Bethlehem, Boaz holds out hope for rain while his relative Elimelech moves his wife Naomi and their sons to Moab. For a while, it appears the Lord is blessing Elimelech’s family, and his sons marry two lovely Moabite women. But calamities strike, one after another, leaving Naomi alone in a foreign land with only her childless daughters-in-law for comfort. When news reaches Naomi that the famine in Bethlehem has lifted, only Ruth will hazard the journey to her mother-in-law’s homeland. Destitute and downhearted, Naomi resigns herself to a life of bitter poverty, but Ruth holds out hope for a better future. And Boaz may be the one God has chosen to provide it.

Combining meticulous research with her endless imagination, Jill Eileen Smith gorgeously renders one of the most beautiful stories in Scripture. Readers will adore this third installment of the inspiring Daughters of the Promised Land series.

**I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.**

5 Star

 

 

The story of Ruth has always been one of my favorite Bible stories. There is the romantic side of the story (or at least, many of us like to think that Boaz loved Ruth), but then all the threads of redemption that jump out. So, with that, I was excited to read another novel that brigs this story to life.

One of the things that stood out to me in this novel, was how well Jill Eileen Smith brings the culture to life. For both the time spent in Moab and then in Israel… we see the society and how it operates, as well as fesitivals and celebrations. This offers a lovely contrast between a culture that loves God and another that does not.

But one of my favorite parts of this book, was how much the relationship between Ruth and Naomi was a focus. I loved seeing these two brought to life and see their relationship play out. It was, I think, one of the most enjoyable aspects of this novel.

If you enjoy biblical fiction, I’d highly reccommend this novel.

“I miss what might have been…But I cannot change what has happened. I can only change how I view things.”

-Ruth, Redeeming Grace

For more information about this author or this book, please visit the following links:
Leave a Reply

