Journal

The One True Love of Alice-Ann

24105713Living in rural Georgia in 1941, sixteen-year-old Alice-Ann has her heart set on her brother’s friend Mack; despite their five-year age gap, Alice-Ann knows she can make Mack see her for the woman she’ll become. But when they receive news of the attack on Pearl Harbor and Mack decides to enlist, Alice-Ann realizes she must declare her love before he leaves.

Though promising to write, Mack leaves without confirmation that her love is returned. But Alice-Ann is determined to wear the wedding dress her maiden aunt never had a chance to wear—having lost her fiancé in the Great War. As their correspondence continues over the next three years, Mack and Alice-Ann are drawn closer together. But then Mack’s letters cease altogether, leaving Alice-Ann to fear history repeating itself.

Dreading the war will leave her with a beautiful dress and no happily ever after, Alice-Ann fills her days with work and caring for her best friend’s war-torn brother, Carlton. As time passes and their friendship develops into something more, Alice-Ann wonders if she’ll ever be prepared to say good-bye to her one true love and embrace the future God has in store with a newfound love. Or will a sudden call from overseas change everything?

**I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.**

5 StarSome books have stories that just open the front door and invite you to sit down and stay for a while. That is what I found in Eva Marie Everson’s The One True Love of Alice-Ann. From the first to the last, I loved visiting this story set in Bynum, Georgia during WWII. I felt immersed in the time and truly came to care for the characters.

The story is told through the perspective of Alice-Ann while she navigates turning 16 on the day that Pearl Harbor was attacked and then throughout the war. Over the course of these few years, she learns to know her own heart and even to recognize some of the troubles those around her have had. While reading, I don’t think I noticed as much these changes in her character. They are gradual and subtle. However, by the end, they were certainly there—and that is something I adored about this book. While some of the major plot points were things I could see coming, it was these changes happening below the surface that escaped my immediate attention. But it was those small changes that made this book so wonderful.

This was one of those books for me that I could not wait to pick back up. It was easy to start right where I left off the last time. I also found it to be a fast read. If you enjoy historical fiction set during WWII, I would certainly recommend this novel. As for myself, I’m excited to try out another book by Eva Marie Everson in the future.

“When life comes at you fast, take a little walk and have a little talk with the good Lord. He’ll straighten things out for you.”

-Papa, The One True Love of Alice-Ann

For more information about this author or this book, please visit the following links:
Leave a Reply

