Journal

My Heart Belongs in Ruby City, Idaho: Rebecca’s Plight

24105713Journey now to Ruby City, Idaho of 1866 where…
A Marriage Mishap Creates an Awkward Love Triangle in this Silver Mining Town

Looking forward to a quiet life and a full stomach, mail-order bride Rebecca Rice is pleased to marry her shopkeeper intended, Mr. Fordham, until the justice of the peace calls him Thaddeus, not Theodore—proceeded by the title Deputy.

Is it possible to marry the wrong man?

When the newlyweds realize they’ve married the wrong partners with similar names, an annulment seems in order—and fast, since Rebecca’s true intended is impatient to claim her as his own, not to mention Rebecca would never marry a lawman like her father. But when the legalities take longer than expected, Rebecca wonders if Tad wasn’t the right husband for her all along. . . .

**I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.**

3 StarsMy Heart Belongs in Ruby City, Idaho: Rebecca’s Plight is a novel that at its core is a fun light-headed comedy of sorts. The situation that Rebecca Rice finds herself is at times both amusing and complicated.

Early on in the story, I enjoyed it. I loved the plot of this book. Rebecca steps off the stage coach in Ruby City, and through some misunderstandings, accidently marries the wrong man. The novel is set up for a lot of fun in the pages. However, for me, the book became a bit tedious. There were so many jokes about Rebecca being married to one man while being engaged to the other that, for me, it began to feel repetitious and predictable. And at many points, I started to lose a bit of interest in the story.

Later on in the book, a subplot begins to take a bit more shape and my interest was a bit more piqued again. Then, the characters began to feel less developed and again, I lost a bit of interest.

I was curious enough to keep moving forward in the book, but not nearly as quickly as my normal pace. If you enjoy the style of humor in the book, it may make it a more enjoyable read. But if you don’t, it’s a bit much at times.

For more information about this author or this book, please visit the following links:
One thought on “My Heart Belongs in Ruby City, Idaho: Rebecca’s Plight

Leave a Reply

