Journal

True to You

24105713Exciting Start of a Brand-New Series by a Contemporary Romance Fan Favorite

After a devastating heartbreak three years ago, genealogist and historical village owner Nora Bradford has decided that burying her nose in her work and her books is far safer than romance in the here and now.

Unlike Nora, former Navy SEAL and Medal of Honor recipient John Lawson is a modern-day man, usually 100 percent focused on the present. But when he’s diagnosed with an inherited condition, he’s forced to dig into the secrets of his past and his adoption as an infant, enlisting Nora to help him uncover the identity of his birth mother.

The more time they spend together, the more this pair of opposites suspects they just might be a perfect match. However, John’s already dating someone and Nora’s not sure she’s ready to trade her crushes on fictional heroes for the risks of a real relationship. Finding the answers they’re seeking will test the limits of their identity, their faith, and their devotion to one another.

**I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.**

5 StarSome novels just come in and swoop you off your feet. Such was the case for me with Becky Wade’s first novel of her new series. True to You is a beautiful story with characters that might just be some of my favorites that I’ve read about this year. If I could turn myself into a character, it would probably be Nora. There were just so many things I loved about her (and a handful of ways we are already alike). And then John was probably one of my favorite types of characters. Those who are just so good in so many ways, but there is something about him that makes him a broken person.

While it certainly had a central problem in the novel, and climax, there was an ebb and flow to this book that for me, I loved. There wasn’t just one big moment, but there was a few along the way. So many times I didn’t know what the big thing was that the book was heading towards, but I enjoyed the journey getting there. Every moment of the book was enjoyable and a looked forward to escaping into it’s pages. I was sad to see it end, but I’m glad I get to look forward to more books with the Bradford sisters.

If you are looking for a great contemporary read, True to You is a book I would highly recommend.

“What I’ve learned is that the past might be challenging and the future might be unsure. And that’s okay. The present is all we’re given, anyway. When we get to the future, God will be there. He’ll supply whatever we need for each day.”

-Nora Bradford, True To You

For more information about this author or this book, please visit the following links:
Leave a Reply

