Journal

The Story Cure

24105713A collection of cures for writer’s block, plotting and characterization issues, and other ailments writers face when completing a novel or memoir, prescribed by the director of creative writing at Ohio University.

People want to write the book they know is inside of them, but they run into stumbling blocks that trouble everyone from beginners to seasoned writers. Drawing on his years of teaching at both the university level and at writing workshops across the country, Professor Dinty W. Moore dons his book-doctor hat to present an authoritative guide to curing the issues that truly plague writers at all levels. His hard-hitting handbook provides inspiring solutions for diagnoses such as character anemia, flat plot, and silent voice, and is peppered with flashes of Moore’s signature wit and unique take on the writing life.

**I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.**

4 StarsI really enjoy books on writing. Writing is just one of those things that is not as solitary as many might think. It takes people to encourage you and it takes others to teach you. It is a craft that you can never fully master but rather always grow from. For this reason, when I have chances to pick up writing books I do. I want to keep learning and growing.

The Story Cure stands out to me as unique. It is not a book that takes you from start to finish of writing a novel. Nor does it focus in on one element of writing such a plot or characters. Rather, it is more of taking your writing to a doctor when it is sick.

The book is set up a bit more topically. The first part focuses on more of the specific elements of writing (plot and character for example) and “diagnoses” common problems. Then Moore offers a suggested “cure”. The second part of the book is more of general thoughts to keep your writing “healthy”—things like good writing habits to get into.

Overall, I think I’ll enjoy having this book on my writing shelf. I love the whole doctor theme that it has going and it’s layout and style will make it a great reference guide. But, I don’t think it would suffice as a standalone book on writing. Rather, for myself at least, I think it will act as more of a springboard. When I’m struggling somewhere, I can see where I might reference this book to help identify the problem and then move towards one of my other books that may go a bit more in-depth. If there is something that this book is lacking in, it is that the explanation of the “cures” is a bit shallow. But I still think that it may be a book worth checking out.

For more information about this author or this book, please visit the following links:
Leave a Reply

