Journal

The White Feather Murders

24105713Uncommon Heroes…or Unsuspecting Victims?

Toronto, 1914. Merinda Herringford and Jem Watts never could have imagined their crime-solving skills would set them up as emblems of female empowerment in a city preparing to enter World War I at the behest of Great Britain. Yet, despite their popularity, the lady detectives can’t avoid the unrest infiltrating every level of society.

A war measure adopted by Mayor Montague puts a target on Jem and her Italian husband, Ray DeLuca. Meanwhile, deep-rooted corruption in the police force causes their friend, Constable Jasper Forth, to wonder if his thirst for upholding the law would be best quenched elsewhere.

In spite of these distractions, Merinda, Ray, and Jasper join with other honorable and courageous city leaders in the Cartier Club, which exists to provide newly arrived residents of Toronto with a seamless integration in the city.

When a club member turns up dead, bearing a slanderous white feather, will Merinda, Jem, and those they hold dear be able to solve the high-stakes mystery before they’re all picked off, one by one?

**I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.**

4 StarsI’ve been a bit conflicted on what to write in this review when it comes to this book, The White Feather Murders by Rachel McMillan. I enjoyed the book, but I wonder if I enjoyed it as much as I could have. If you are unfamiliar with this series, Herringford and Watts, they are similar to taking a Sherlock Holmes novel and placing it in Toronto in the early 1900’s. The premise of the series certainly intrigues me and that leads me to my own error.

While I was reading the book, I had a hard time getting drawn in. I think this series expects you to read the first book and then the second, which I unfortunately did not do. So I never really felt introduced to the characters but rather was just dropped into the middle of the story. It made it hard to enjoy at first—and then add in a number of characters and seemingly complex relationships, and well…I wanted to give up on it a few times. But again, I think it was my own fault.

But despite all the problems, I eventually did start to gain a bit more interest in the book. Enough that I have plans to someday go back to the start and try from the beginning. So, if you are looking for some mystery novels that aren’t as heavy on the suspense, this may be a series to check out. But, learn from my mistakes and start at the first one.

For more information about this author or this book, please visit the following links:
Leave a Reply

