Book Reviews

Lady Jayne Disappears

24105713
When Aurelie Harcourt’s father dies in debtor’s prison, he leaves her just two things: his wealthy family, whom she has never met, and his famous pen name, Nathaniel Droll. Her new family greets her with apathy and even resentment. Only the quiet houseguest, Silas Rotherham, welcomes her company.

When Aurelie decides to complete her father’s unfinished serial novel, writing the family into the story as unflattering characters, she must keep her identity as Nathaniel Droll hidden while searching for the truth about her mother’s disappearance–and perhaps even her father’s death.

Author Joanna Davidson Politano’s stunning debut set in Victorian England will delight readers with its highly original plot, lush setting, vibrant characters, and reluctant romance.

**I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.**

5 Star

Lady Jayne Disappears caught my eye for it’s unique title. Then the cover has such a mysterious vibe to it, and reading the synopsis was the moment I knew I had to read this book.

Like it’s title, this book is certainly unique. I can’t think of another story quite like it. The book bridges a gap between fiction and reality that sometimes the lines feel a bit blurred. I loved the idea of a character writing her life story as it happened and learning everything that ultimately started that path for her was intriguing. Almost as intriguing as everything that happens throughout the course of the book.

My only complaint, is that at times, this story felt a bit slow. Perhaps that was due to my own expectations. But regardless, I still thoroughly enjoyed it and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a book that is a bit different from the norm.

“Fiction was not always a lie, but a truth told in parallel to real life. A pill of advice disguised in an easy-to-swallow tale.”

-Lady Jayne Disappears

For more information about this author or this book, please visit the following links:

Leave a comment